No reason to go to bed

Why am I blogging after midnight, when I have mountains of work ahead of me tomorrow and I know getting up will be as hard for me as it always is?  I have no reason to go to bed.  After working all afternoon and evening, and spending little time with our daughter, my wife decided to go sleep in the little angel’s bed.

The late hours often find my wife on her laptop and me on my Kindle Fire.  We converse, but we don’t really look at each other, really engage.  But, when we’re done washing up and we slide into the blankets on our bed, then we start to connect.  We joke, we process through the events of the day, we dote on our daughter, we reminisce on years past.  We talk until we fall asleep.

Those are sweet moments, and I wouldn’t trade them for all the “free time” in the world.  I wouldn’t trade them for a night alone in our bed meant for two.  I would rather have a reason to go to bed.

About Catterfly

Mexican-American guy, married to a Korean woman, with Korexican kids. I have not arrived yet, but I'm on the path every day to becoming the man, husband, father, son, brother, friend, and pastor I was meant to be. My standard, my highest aim, my very life is Jesus Christ. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

