Opportunities and Open Doors

With my precious wife and children away for a few weeks, I wondered what I was going to do with all the free time I expected to have. No diapers to change, no mouths to feed, no little ones to play with, no one to put to sleep, no one to wake me up in the early hours. I can eat dinner whenever I want or find time to. I can leave the house for work in record time. I can watch whatever I want to or watch nothing at all. What to do with all that time? I wondered, but I do not wonder anymore.

ImageIt’s not time I have more of, but opportunity. I have had the ability to say “yes” to opportunity after opportunity that I would not normally be able to. Like what? Well, let’s see…

  • Helping out at another church’s youth group, so I could observe and gather ideas for our own
  • Host a guys basketball night
  • Take in a struggling former youth group student
  • Spend a day in training with youth and youth leaders
  • Enjoy meaningful time with treasured friends
  • Help a homeless man in tragic circumstances

I am not commending myself, nor do I wish anyone else to do so. I’m just marveling at the open doors that I have not only encountered and entered. They have been open doors to bless others and be blessed, to serve others and be served, to feed and be fed.

On the very first day of my time alone, I committed this time to God, to be put to use as He saw fit. Thus far, God has exceeded what I could have imagined, and it’s been less than a week!

About Catterfly

Mexican-American guy, married to a Korean woman, with Korexican kids. I have not arrived yet, but I'm on the path every day to becoming the man, husband, father, son, brother, friend, and pastor I was meant to be. My standard, my highest aim, my very life is Jesus Christ. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

